Skip to main content

Hyperbaric Medicine

dem hyperbaric medicine faculty standing outside in front of the ocean

The Hyperbaric Medicine Center is located on the lower level of the Outpatient Center of UC San Diego Medical Center in Hillcrest and was opened in 1984. The center has a 12-place chamber and is equipped to handle critically ill patients. 

The Hyperbaric Medicine Division has the first hyperbaric medicine endowed chair position in the country. The Ted and Michelle Gurnee endowed chairman for hyperbaric medicine is Dr. George Perdrizet (starting Fall 2014). The Medical Director for the division is Dr. Ian Grover who is also one of the full-time faculty members of the Department of Emergency Medicine. The Associate Director is Dr. Pete Witucki who is also on the faculty of the DEM. Doctors Stephen Hayden, "Jake" Jacoby, Jim Killeen, Emi Latham, Anthony Medak, Brian Snyder, Chris Tomaszewski, and Karen Van Hoesen also see patients as hyperbaric attending physicians.

Dr. Pete Witucki is also the Undersea and Hyperbaric fellowship director. The Undersea and Hyperbaric Fellowship program accepts one to two candidates per year.

The center is the only civilian 24-hour emergency treatment center in San Diego, Imperial, Orange or Riverside Counties. The center treats all civilian diving emergencies from Mexico to the Los Angeles County border. The center treats approximately 2,000 patients per year, and serves as the Divers Alert Network (DAN) on call diving physician for six months of the year.   The chamber also electively treats all medical conditions as approved by the Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society's Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Committee. 

Emergency Medicine Residents will rotate one month on the service in a combined Hyperbaric Medicine/Toxicology rotation.

For patient services and referrals, please visit our clinical website.